Yorkshire and the Humber Campaign to Protect Rural England

Skip to navigation

Yorkshire & the Humber regional branches

Spurn point Spurn point

Yorkshire and the Humber region is divided into five geographical areas, originally defined by political boundaries. CPRE has a strong individual Branch presence within each one of these areas.

East Yorkshire Branch

The East Yorkshire Branch covers the geographical region from the Humber Estuary, north towards Filey, West towards the Vale of York. It is bounded by the North Yorkshire borders and the coast line and features the Yorkshire Wolds, Plain of Holderness and the city of Hull.


North Yorkshire Branch

North Yorkshire has recently been voted the most beautiful County in Yorkshire. Famed for it's dramatic coastline, the Yorkshire Dales, the North Yorkshire Moors National Park, the beguiling, historic city of York and the vales of Mowbray, York and Pickering and also the fertile Humberhead Levels in Selby District. It is easy to see why it is so admired.

The County is further subdivided into several local district groups all following traditional political boundaries.

CPRE has a very active group of volunteers in each district within the county. See North Yorkshire’s website for further information.


South Yorkshire Branch

South Yorkshire has a very strong CPRE presence and the Branch is proud of the fact it fights to protect the landscapes around Barnsely, Doncaster, Sheffield, Rotherham.

See South Yorkshire’s website for further information.


West Yorkshire Branch

The West Yorkshire Branch has recently reconfigured, dividing responsibilities between Southern and Northern Districts. The North District comprises the Bradford, Leeds and Wakefield M.D.Cs.’ areas and the Southern group look after the remainder to the South.

This is a friendly group with planning expertise. The members strive to protect the unique beauty of the countryside which is attractive and accessible to so many people living in the area.

See West Yorkshire’s website for further information.


Northern Lincolnshire

Northern Lincolnshire is the area covered by the unitary authorities of North and North East Lincolnshire. Bounded by the Humber Estuary to the north it is an area of great contrasts from the rolling hills of the Lincolnshire Wolds to the towns of Scunthorpe and Grimsby.

The local CPRE Branch has a dedicated and very friendly group of volunteers who meet 6 times a year and organise a well-supported annual calendar of events.

For more information please Northern Lincolnshire’s website.

join us

Back to top